Home

As I may have mentioned already, I get inspiration from all kinds of places and regularly (often obsessively) search the web for anything that will motivate and inspire me. Pinterest, crochet blogs, and design and fashion sites are among the many I have bookmarked.

Here are some of this week’s finds:

  1. This gray hat (below) from Style Bubble. Hard to see here, but the embellishment on the front gave me a ton of ideas for some new hats. I’m thinking of a riff on the old-fashioned cameo or silhouette, but with a modern twist. Maybe glam it up with a glitzy trim or rough it up with some studs. Ideas are still simmering.

    Image

    Love the hat embellishment.

  2. Crochet used in high fashion and design. Came across a photo (below left) showing crochet trim on the runway during fashion week. Collecting images like these shows me what colors are trending, but also validates crochet as a legitimate art form.

    Model wearing clothes with crochet trim.

    Check out the crochet trim.

  3. Crochet as art. Every now and then I want to experiment with crochet as art–creating objects that are completely impractical, but stand on their own as art. There are some wonderful crochet/fiber artists out there who create large scale installations and sculptures from various materials while using crochet as the medium. The picture here (below left) shows this on a smaller scale; something that I might be able to do, since I don’t have the tools, skill, patience, etc. to work large scale with materials like wire or heavy rope.

    Picture of branch with fiber on it

    Sometimes I want to do things like this.

  4. Taking a break. As you may know from my last blog, I incurred some overuse injuries from crocheting so much to prepare for a special event at our local art museum. StImageill recovering, but finding this (near left) in my email helped me get through the frustrating sitting and waiting phase. “When it is time to wait, you just wait” (from The Improvised Life) was simple, practical advice just when I needed it. Like naps, breaks from your art or any favorite activity should be scheduled regularly to help body, mind and spirit rest and recharge. 
  5. My mother. Today marks one year since my mother passed away at 99 years of age. Although I did not learn to crochet from my mother, she excelled at knitting, crocheting and rug-making, and was a master seamstress as well. As we went through her belongings after she died, we were not surprised to find a stash of yarn, an unfinished crochet bedspread (dozens of nubby white squares made from cotton thread) a couple of unfinished knit scarves and enough fabric to keep her three daughters happy for a long time. When we were young, she made many of our good clothes such as church dresses and Easter coats (the ones I called our Styrofoam coats were made from an early version of polyester. Open flames were a real risk with these). Rather than paying for our Catholic grade-school uniforms, she bought the fabric and made the pleated skirts herself. Together, she and I made my high school prom gown. Much of her fabric and older yarns went to the senior center in Batesville, Arkansas, but each of us kept swatches left over from clothing she made for us when we were kids as well as yards of some cool vintage fabrics.
Mom with Mary

My wonderful mother and one of my sisters.

Today’s creative sparks come to me from all kinds of sources. Rather than looking through Sears catalogs, women’s magazines and handicraft pamphlets like mom did, I turn on the laptop and hunt for ideas. Like her (and like my sisters), we grew up with the idea that we were perfectly capable of making things by sewing, knitting, crocheting or cooking and the three of us turned out to be skilled at one or more of these. Dad was also handy around the house and yard, building bookshelves, repairing lawnmowers, typewriters and appliances, and keeping our cars in top form. Every year, his garden provided the best tomatoes, peppers, okra, sweet potatoes, green beans, sugar snap peas and more for eating, freezing and canning. There is something to be said for that industrious self-reliance, for using your hands to create. I’m blessed to have seen that growing up, and that kind of creativity continues to enrich my life. Plus, I have two sisters whose creativity is a constant inspiration.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I would love to hear how you became inspired to create. Who were your first teachers or role models? Stay in touch on Facebook and take a look at StorylineCreations on etsy when you have a chance. (My apologies if the layout of this post looks a little wacky. This is the first time I’ve tried to include so many photos. Oh well–it’s a learning curve.)

Leave a Reply

