Home

“Well, we all make mistakes, dear, so just put it behind you. We should regret our mistakes and learn from them, but never carry them forward into the future with us.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Avonlea

Good advice most of the time. Not so great when one is crocheting a pair of half gloves and a mistake is made in the first one.

In a perfect world, the second one should be exactly like the first, right? I consider half gloves part of the perfect world (most of the time I don’t inhabit that place–too much pressure). So…in this case the mistake must be carried forward, contrary to Montgomery’s advice. Luckily, I kind of know what my mistake is and can do it again. This one is small compared to the time I crocheted a half glove pattern from memory. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize until it was done that the whole thing was wrong. So I had to remember it the wrong way again, and make another one to match. Not as easy as it sounds, folks. My brain tries to forget a mistake as soon as I realize I made it, so it’s like a recovered memory: What happened? Did I dream this event? Can I trust my version? Instead of vowing never to make that mistake again, I must examine it and repeat it over and over and over. (Is that the definition of mental illness? Hmmm.)

In crochet and in art, mistakes often lead to a better version of what one had in mind. I nearly always welcome mistakes and hesitate to even label them mistakes. But sometimes a mistake is a mistake. It’s not charming or artful and doesn’t lead to something better. I mean, who wants to wear a pair of mistmatched-in-a-bad-way gloves? If I ignore the mistake in the first pair–somehow changing the row count from 24 sc to 28 sc as the glove progressed–one will be noticeably smaller than the other. And actually that mistake is not that hateful–most people’s hands are wider across the knuckles than at the tips of the fingers, so it kind of worked out. (I’m also the master of rationalization, but that’s another topic.)

Onward through the fog, as someone said! Wish me luck in duplicating this mistake with a smile on my face and a song in my heart, or at the very least without a knot in my stomach and a curse in my throat.

How do you deal with mistakes? Don’t tell me you’ve never made any (that would make me sad!). Stay in touch. Share your comments here and visit my Facebook page to see what inspires me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

