Home
tweet, twitter, crochet, StorylineCreations

Me with bird beanie–my Tweeting hat!

I’m sitting at my computer watching my amazing sister (who live across the street) put up a privacy fence. I say amazing because she has been measuring, sawing and nailing most of the morning and into the early afternoon. Although I was up earlier weeding the backyard flower beds, I’ve mostly sat at the dining room table crocheting, reading blogs, surfing the internet and–TA DA–learning how to Tweet. Yep. Look out world, I’m on Twitter. I think I’m going to keep the bird beanie I was trying to sell and wear it when I Tweet. What do you think?

In the last couple of days, I’ve also ordered a Square to experiment with before CyclopsFest in the fall. Not sure this will work since I can only access the web via wifi with my iPad. No smart phone for this girl. People say it can be done, so I’ll see what happens when the Square finally arrives. (Still trying to figure out where to insert the thing on my iPad!) The event organizers have talked about a dedicated network for vendors, so I’ll have to wait and see.

Oh yeah, my obsession

As you may recall from a previous post, I’m kind of in love with American Craft magazine. I’ve checked nearly every issue out of the library and renewed them at least once. I may have to come up with the money to join!

design, artist, creativity

Wendell Castle in American Craft magazine.

The December 2012/January 2013 issue focused on artists and crafts people who have become designers, gaining a wider audience for their work, a lucrative source of income and probably a little more stress, if the truth be told. In the same issue, I was introduced to Wendell Castle, a renowned artist who has worked mostly in wood, but has dabbled in plastic as well. He often integrates artistic vision and functionality with stunning results. What I like most about the profile of Castle, however, were Wendell Castle’s “Adopted Rules of Thumb”–both the original and new versions. Here they are:

Castle’s Adopted Rules of Thumb (New)

  1. Distrust what comes easily.
  2. You have to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything.
  3. Bring conflicting attitudes to bear on the same problem.
  4. We should never know for whom we’re designing.
  5. Always listen to the voice of eccentricity.
  6. The whole secret to designing a chair is applying the seat of your pants to the seat of the chair.
  7. The problem with taking life in your own hands is you have no one else to blame.
  8. If your mind is not baffled, your mind is not fully employed.
  9. Imagination, not reason, creates what is novel.
  10. Jumping to conclusions is not exercise.
  11. Keep knocking–eventually someone will look down and see who is there.

Castles Adopted Rules of Thumb (Original)

  1. If you are in love with an idea, you are no judge of its beauty or value.
  2. It is difficult to see the whole picture when you are inside the frame.
  3. After learning the tricks of the trade, don’t think you know the trade.
  4. We hear and apprehend what we already know.
  5. The dog that stays on the porch will find no bones.
  6. Never state a problem to yourself in the same terms it was brought to you.
  7. If it’s offbeat or surprising it’s probably useful.
  8. If you do not expect the unexpected, you will not find it.
  9. Don’t get too serious.
  10. If you hit the bull’s eye every time, the target is too near.

I think I like his original rules better, especially 1, 4, 5, 7, 9 and 10. What do you think? New rules or the originals? Any favorites?

As always, thanks for reading, Keep creating and visit me on Facebook. And look out for my tweets!

Leave a Reply

