Home

While looking for travel books–planning a trip to Denmark, Holland, Germany and Poland–I hit our local Half Price Books to check out the travel section and discovered there was nothing (or nothing useful) for these countries.  Lots on Syria, which made me kind of sad, since I hear it was a beautiful country before the war. Anyway, back to my first-world problem of not being able to find remotely recent travel books for the above-mentioned countries.

After striking out in the travel section, I headed for the magazine area–a woman was blocking that whole section with her cart and didn’t seem inclined to move (grrrr!)–and after that to the clearance section where I was thwarted by two people who blocked access to both sets of shelves. I didn’t feel up to the throat-clearing-excuse-me-just-need-a-quick-peek routine, so I moved on to…

General Crafts! I hit the crochet, knitting, quilting and general crafts collection. Note: I am perpetually disappointed in this area because knitting, quilting and cross stitch books far outnumber the interesting crochet books, which is not unusual, but is still frustrating. (Take heart crocheters: Someday we will rise again!) After selecting and rejecting several books, I spotted the torn cover of Modular Crochet–a hardback lurking among the many soft covers about amigurumi and granny squares, and pamphlets on doilies and lace borders.

So…

IMG_2358Modular Crochet by Judith Copeland is a fabulous book. I was excited to see a different approach to crocheting stunning sweaters, jackets and capes using basic stitches such as single crochet, half double crochet, slip stitch, etc. It appeared all the patterns were based on crocheting tubes, squares and rectangles, then joining them in different configurations to make the pictured garment. It didn’t look like there were detailed patterns, per se–just diagrams and stitch descriptions. There was also a section about the importance of using quality yarns. As you experienced crocheters and knitters know, the quality of the yarn can make or break a project, and your choice of yarn weight and hook size can also make a critical difference.

Impressed, since I hadn’t seen a book like this in a long time, I decided to make the purchase as long as the book was less than $10.  Imagine my shock when I saw that Half Price Books had it at marked at $44.99 (in 1976–when it was published–the price was $17.99). After realizing it wasn’t a mistake, I reluctantly put the book back on shelf (kind of trying to hide it among the bad crochet books), and walked away.

And then walked back. I wanted to memorize her techniques and patterns, a frustrating and fruitless effort at my age. The fact that it was so expensive made me want the book even more, and I would have captured every page on my iPod if I had the nerve. Instead, I decided to look for it on Amazon or another book-finding site when I got home. Luckily, soft-cover versions of the book are available at a more affordable price.

I may just have to order it! Happy Birthday, to me.

Thanks for reading. I’d love to hear your comments–good and bad. Also, I would die from happiness if you would like my Facebook page–StorylineCreations–and follow me on Twitter (storylinecreate), Tumblr and Instagram (retired writer).

 

 

Leave a Reply

