Home

The idea of using your craft to make a political or social statement has always appealed to me. Here is a beautiful post by someone who is actually doing this. Inspiring!

Katie Smith, Socially Engaged Artist

I’ve recently enrolled as a student of The School of Gentle Protest. The school, developed by Craftivist Collective’s  Sarah Corbett and 1215 Today, is ‘a 6 week online curriculum to help individuals and groups around the world tackle prejudice, injustice, corruption and inequality wherever they see it – without resorting to aggression and hostility.’

I signed up to the course because I am curious to see where gentle protest and activism sit both within my personal values and practice as an artist. Barely two weeks in and I am in full on ‘ponder mode’ surprised by a thread that has already woven its way through my thinking.

The thread is perhaps more of a question; how do we make the ‘invisible’ visible in a way that provokes thought and has the power to challenge behaviour? Through the course so far I have learnt how Gandhi made injustice visible through…

View original post 395 more words

Leave a Reply

